Let's be honest, we have all done it at point in time. Text or calling while driving. Sometimes it's hard not too! Since Minnesota made the new hands-free law into effect on August 1st, people can longer use their phones while driving. Which was a big deal! A welcome one in my opinion. The United States Department of Transportation reported that cell phones are involved in a whopping 1.6 million auto crashes each year, causing half a million injuries and prompting 6,000 deaths annually.
According to the Minnesota State Patrol, since August 1st...they have stopped over 1,600 drivers violating the new Minnesota hands-free law. They even posted a breakdown of the stats which you can check down below:
Here's the breakdown of citations and warnings broken up by age and gender:
• Under 20 years old: 95 citations
• 20-29 years old: 472 citations
• 30-39 years old: 424 citations
• 40-49 years old: 293 citations
• 50-59 years old: 199 citations
• 60+ years old: 131 citations
• 952 males
• 650 females
• 12 not available
For more info, check out HandsFreeMN.org.